(Pro)Found Poetry – Art Journal Spread Complete

If you have been following my blog for the last few days, you may know that I had a breakthrough, of sorts, through my art journaling practice.  See my original post here, where I talked about the inspiration for the pages I am about to show you.  This is a bit “raw” and more than I usually reveal on my blog, but I can’t help myself.  It just feels right to share this.

So, when I last typed, this is what my spread looked like:

 poetrylpoetryr

 Through the process of “found poetry”, these are the words that came together to form my poem.

Beautiful

So, off I went…I grabbed my Dylusions ink sprays in happy colors, and began adding to play.  I had previously covered the “found” words with removable frisket, which masks them, to keep them from getting inky and painty by the layers I planned to add.  I tried to remember to take photos along the way, but I found myself in a bit of an art trance, so I didn’t get very many.

fpprog1

fpprog2

The image below was created with black gesso and a stencil (by iStencils):fpprog3

The words were added with a stencil by Stencil Girl.

fpprog4fpprog5

And, that’s it for the process photos.  The following photos are the finished spread.  I added some Tim Holtz rubons, stamping, wood veneer shapes and words (colored with Zig Wink of Stella glitter pens), doodles, etc.  Then, I removed the frisket to reveal the poem. fpdets fpdets2 fpl fprfoundpoetry

So, despite being initially inspired by an Inspiration Wednesday lesson, I definitely went in my own direction, and the final spread looks nothing like Donna’s lesson.  Sometimes that happens, and I’m totally okay with that!  The point is to get inspired, right?  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 00:18:49

    Oh Kim!!! This is so fantastically Beautiful!!! You are extremely creative and talented!!! Thankyou for sharing!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

