Tutorial – Shimmery Glimmery Acrylic Paint

One of the newest crazes in the mixed media world seems to be the shimmery paints.  A number of different manufacturers have jumped on the bandwagon.  I got myself a couple of bottles of Luminarte’s product – Silks – the acrylic version of the popular watercolor “Twinkling H20’s” (also known as twinks).  Wow.  The Silks are absolutely the most glimmery, shimmery paint I have ever seen.  But, I initially had some trouble finding them in Canada, and now that they are available in Canada, they are bit pricey (I paid $7.99).  So, I thought I would try making my own.  I have so many shimmery products in my stash.  Surely I can come up with something close.  Well, my efforts turned out okay.  My homemade paints are not quite as shimmery as the Silks, but I came up with some pretty paints that will definitely be used in my mixed media work.  I made a little video tutorial for you: