SGD’s January Kit Reveal! ARCTIC CHILL!

Good day, my scrappy friends!  I’m so excited about today’s reveal!  This month’s kit is so scrumptious, and was so much fun to play with!  I still have so much left over!  Unbelievable!  If you want enough beautiful winter-themed patterned paper to scrap all your winter memories, this is the kit for you!  However, this kit is extremely versatile…because of all the gorgeous colours and prints, it is absolutely perfect for almost anything you want to scrap!  Anyway, enough gushing…let’s get to it, shall we?

You may want to grab a cup of coffee, and a comfortable chair, because this is going to be a long post.

Introducing:

                                                           ARCTIC CHILL

This month’s kit includes:

      The complete “Arctic Chill” package from Fancy Pants Designs:

o       12-Double Sided Papers (65 # weight)

o       1-sheet cards paper (65# weight)

o       1-sheet Title Strips Paper (65# weight)

o       2- 12×12 Transparent Overlays

o       1-Printed Die Cut Sheet

o       1-8×8 color rub-on sheet

           Co-Ordinating American Crafts Felt Thickers Letters

            Co-Ordinating Kaiser Kraft Self-Adhesive Pearls

            Prima “Sweet Nothings” Flowers in pink & white

            One entire sheet of Heidi Swapp’s Silhouette Snowflakes

 

***Limited Quantity Available – once they’re gone, they’re gone!

 

Okay, so here’s what I came up with:

 

I actually completed my first project just prior to New Years’ Eve.  We had a small party, so I made this banner as a party decoration, and displayed it on our fireplace mantle.This was a difficult project to photograph.  In addition to the kit supplies, I used :

SU textured cardstock (red), – one sheet of 12×12 cardstock made the entire banner base! – and

an entire package of white Queen & Co. Felt Fusion (on clearance right now at Scrappin’ Great Deals).  I

 also used my Cuttlebug to make the die cut stars, and some star punches for other sizes and shapes. 

I used Stickles to outline some of the stars.

 I used my Martha Stewart border punch for the top edge.

Then, as a final addition of subtle glimmer, I sprayed the entire project with Glimmer Mist! 

 

It does look fabulous IRL, but Glimmer Mist really doesn’t show up well in photographs.

 

So, after the party was all over and done with, my (original) plan was to remove the “2009” chipboard number component of the banner (which I made to be removed), and use the banner component again in future.  But, my creative mind went into high gear (LOVE it when that happens!), and I came up with an idea to make a mini-book out of it, utilizing the photos I took at our party!  So, here’s the reverse side of the banner “after the party”!

 

 

My plan is to use the chipboard numbers (which I covered with the patterned paper from the kit) and Fancy Pants transparency, on a “goals” mini-book – to record and track my goals and aspirations for 2009.  I had hoped to complete this for this reveal, but I guess I’ll have to add that goal!  LOL

 

Layouts:

 

 

 

And, last, but certainly not least, a few cards:

 

This is my very first card with a Copic-coloured stamped image!  The image is from High Hopes, and available at Scrappin’ Great Deals (along with a ton of other adorable images!).  The cardstock is Coredinations, (also available at SGD) – (black with an aqua core).  The card base is made from a fabulous new product (available at http://sheetloadshortcuts.blogspot.com/ ) – and is an acrylic, frosted card base.  This is the first time I have used this product, and I have to give Alyssa a “toot” – it’s so sturdy, I think you could make an acrylic mini album with it!  I also used some Stickles on the (unknown) brad, the angel wings, and the flower is from Prima.

The butterfly border on the inside is Bazzill “Just the Edge”.

My next card:

Non-kit products used:  craft store safety pin and button, Uchida snowflake punch, Bazzill cs base and “just the edge” heart border.

This  next card is another difficult project to photograph.  I made the base from half of one of the transparencies included in the kit.  The rub-on sentiment is from My Sentiments Exactly.  The border punch is Fiskars.  The ribbon is from Michael’s.  The cardstock and heart trim is from Bazzill, and the bling is from Kaiser.

 

The only non-kit products used on this card were the base (Bazzill), and the gel hearts – unknown.  Oh, and I went over the sentiment with my Copics, and the dimension on the “Love” sentiment was done using Liquid Pearls in White Opal (available at SGD).

 

 

 

*WHEW*  I think that’s it for today!  Please leave me a comment!  I love to hear what you have to say (good or bad)!  I’m also happy to answer any questions you may have, about any of these projects, or anything at all!  Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by.  Sheila will have this kit up and available on the site by the weekend.  Quantities are limited, so don’t procrastinate!  lol  Thanks again and I’m off to do my Yoga!  🙂

 

Edited to add:  Heather has now posted her reveal!  Check it out!  http://greenapplegirl.typepad.com/

I just love what she did with this kit.  Our styles are quite different, which shows how versatile this kit really is!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deanne Burton
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 11:52:55

    I love this kit!!! I went to the store to order it, but I can’t see it there.The Dec kit is offered but this one isn’t.Is it sold out?

    Reply

    • kimmerbe
      Jan 08, 2009 @ 11:56:06

      Hello Deanne! I just edited my post to say that this kit will be available for order by the weekend, so check back then. Thanks! 🙂

      Reply

  2. michelledobbyn
    Jan 08, 2009 @ 20:47:33

    Gorgeous work with the kit Kim!!! :]

    Reply

  3. Shirley
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 09:41:39

    Oh my gosh…you did such beautiful things with this kit…I just love all of it. I will definitely head over to the site to order this w/e.

    Reply

Leave a comment